The State of Florida has many laws for those seeking to carry firearms or other weapons. There are laws for who can carry a weapon, where it can be carried, and how it must be carried.
A Lawyer for Weapons Charges
Robert A. Dees defends clients who are facing gun and weapons charges. These charges include carrying a concealed weapon, possession of a firearm by a convicted felon, or any other weapons charge.
It’s important that you hire an attorney immediately. I can contest the arrest and evidence to get your charges reduced or dismissed. I seek the best outcome in every case.
Call Robert A. Dees today at 850-439-0999 to set up a free consultation to discuss the charges against you. I represent people facing charges anywhere in Okaloosa County, including Fort Walton Beach, Destin and Niceville.
Laws About Carrying Weapons in Florida
People in Florida are allowed to carry deadly weapons if they have received a Concealed Weapons Permit. You must obtain this permit from the Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services. While Florida recognizes the concealed carry permits from some states, it does not from others, including New York and California.
If convicted of illegally possessing a concealed firearm, it is a felony under Florida Stat. § 790.01, punishable by up to five years in prison and a fine up to $5,000. If previously convicted of a violent crime two or more times, the sentence may be enhanced to 10 years.
For any other type of weapon, it is a first degree misdemeanor, punishable by up to a year in jail and up to a $1,000 fine.
While it is illegal to conceal weapons, it is also illegal to carry them in the open such as on your hip. This is true even if you have a concealed weapons permit. Open carry of a weapon is a second degree misdemeanor, punishable by up to 60 days in jail and a fine up to $500.
If prosecutors can prove you exhibited a weapon, including a firearm, you may be charged with improper exhibition of a weapon, a first degree misdemeanor punishable by up to a year in jail and a fine up to $1,000.
Possession of a Weapon With a Prior Felony Conviction
Florida Stat. § 790.23 states it is illegal for a person with a prior felony conviction to possess a firearm. It a second degree felony. If you are convicted of possessing a firearm and you are a convicted felon, you are facing a mandatory 3-year prison sentence.
To legally be allowed to carry a firearm again, you must have your civil rights restored. It does not matter if you were carrying the gun for protection. If caught hunting with a rifle, you may be charged with this crime.
The law applies to guns and ammunition.
Mandatory Minimum Sentence with Felony Involving Firearm
Florida has a law often called the “10-20-Life” law that requires mandatory sentencing for certain violent felony convictions when the prosecution can prove a gun was used during the commission of the crime. The crime could be a battery, assault, aggravated battery or assault, robbery or one of many other crimes of violence.
Under the law, you will be sentenced to at least 10 years if convicted of producing a gun during the commission of the felony, at least 20 years if you fire a gun and at least 25 years to life in prison if you are convicted of actually shooting someone.
Florida Weapons Charges Resources
Gun Owners of America: The GOA is an advocacy organization that lobbies U.S. Congress to restore and protect the right to bear arms.
National Rifle Association: The NRA is a nearly 150-year-old nonprofit that promotes ownership of guns and lobbies congress and other legislative bodies for Second Amendment Rights.